One Week Since the Passing of the King and…

It was a beautifully rainy, grey, and quiet weekend full of catching up on things unfinished. Take a moment to nod to one of the Masters. Pour one out for his soul, which has entered the great creative ether we all have access to if we only put our feelers out.

One week ago, his body passed. One week ago we lost a hero. One week ago, we remembered his stories. Let us not forget the things he taught us of the future. For the future’s sake. He was 91, but his words are forever. Thank you, Mr. Bradbury. Rest in Peace. I hope one day your bones rest in the Iron Soil of Mars, where they belong.

Ray Bradbury Reads
Truth in Reading

From Sara Teasdale

“There will come soft rains and the smell of the ground,
And swallows circling with their shimmering sound;And frogs in the pool singing at night,
And wild plum trees in tremulous white;

Robins will wear their feathery fire,
Whistling their whims on a low fence-wire;

And not one will know of the war, not one
Will care at last when it is done.

Not one would mind, neither bird nor tree,
If mankind perished utterly;

And Spring herself when she woke at dawn
Would scarcely know that we were gone.”

4 thoughts on “One Week Since the Passing of the King and…

  1. I love the post. Keep them comin’!

    This is one of my favorite Bradbury quotes from Fahrenheit 451: “Stuff your eyes with wonder … live as if you’d drop dead in ten seconds. See the world. It’s more fantastic than any dream made or paid for in factories.”

    Stuff your eyes with wonder. I’m always trying to do that with the hope that someday, somewhere, sometime, an idea will strike me because 419 days before that, I saw something. and I guess Ray Bradbury help me realize the value of this.

    1. I love your perspective on Bradbury and the quote you shared.I am always intrigued to hear how others were affected by my own heroes. Having a hero is like having a quiet moment with a complete stranger, at times. To know that someone else shares those moments makes it that much more enjoyable.

      His effect on me was a profound one. I always admired the depth of his work. His bravery at attacking subjects as broad as the future or as intimate as the dreams of little girls. His imagination seemed to be able to occupy any space he desired, a quality I admire in any person, let alone someone with the ability to share it all with us. The stories of him typing Fahrenheit 451in 14 hours in the basement of the Los Angeles public library makes me want to find that basement and rent one of those ten cent typewriters…

  2. “There Will Come Soft Rains” was the title of Bradbury’s post-apocalyptic short story, included in The Martian Chronicles. Teasdale’s brilliantly poignant poem is given an added poignancy in this profound gem of a tale.

    Rest in Peace, Ray. You were/ are Great! A True Scholar and Gentleman.

    1. I concur. The story was one of my favorites from one of my favorite collections. I wore that book out before I took it back to the library…

Leave a Reply

