Long for Quiet [No Shelter Here]

The older I get, the more I appreciate silence.

” Mia: Don’t you hate that?
Vincent: What?
Mia: Uncomfortable silences. Why do we feel it’s necessary to yak about bullshit in order to be comfortable?
Vincent:I don’t know. That’s a good question.
Mia: That’s when you know you’ve found somebody special. When you can just shut the fuck up for a minute and comfortably enjoy the silence.”

Uma Thurman in Pulp Fiction
Mia Wallace says, “shhhhh…”

And the less I seem to get throughout a day.

korea1a
Walls of Sound

“Headphones are the new wall,”…(http://www.nytimes.com/2012/05/20/science/when-buzz-at-your-cubicle-is-too-loud-for-work.html?_r=1)

Sound is a form of barrier or threshold. In the new age, it will represent a doorway to invention and interaction as well as a membrane meant to be crossed only with purpose and/or meaning.

A Laocoon
Laocoon

Plan a getaway with your ears. A mini sensory-vacation. But always be aware. Big Brother listens is much as he watches.

German Audio Police
Ze German Audio Police circa post WWI…

And finally, from the venerable Mr. Hitchcock…

” Dialogue should simply be a sound among other sounds, just something that comes out of the mouths of people whose eyes tell the story in visual terms.”

http://img.groundspeak.com/waymarking/display/07cf1625-35a6-4f05-b736-5c572f6787b9.JPG
“La Rotunda del Mar” (“The Rotunda of the Sea”) by Alejandro Colunga, 1997
4 thoughts on “Long for Quiet [No Shelter Here]

  1. It’s true, “headphones are the new wall”. I wonder sometimes how many missed connections I’ve had with others just because I wall myself off with headphones and nose stuck in a book when riding the metro.

    1. And sometimes, that might be for the best. For some reason, on trains especially, I am always fascinated by the isolationism present. It is interesting to remain in one’s own quiet place around so many others. I once imagined living on a glass cube on a train. No visual privacy…ever…and yet, no one can hear me, and I could not hear them…

      Like a little performance haiku. Maybe doing it for 3 months wouldn’t be so bad?

  2. Headphones are definitely the new wall. Back when I faced a terrible depression, I couldn’t bear going anywhere without them. I had to be listening to music, or at least pretend to so that the world wouldn’t bother me.

    1. Yes. I think there is much truth to many of Frank Herbert’s conjectures regarding addiction and the human relationship with substance in Dune. Eventually, there may be a substance that allows for the unfolding of our complete consciousness like spice, but until then, we already have semuta…

Leave a Reply

